If you only read the wiki, there is no more information collected about you than is normally collected by web sites in general in their server logs.
If you contribute to the site, you are publishing every word you post publicly. If you write something, assume that it will be kept forever. This includes articles, user pages and talk pages. Some limited exceptions are described below.
Publishing on the wiki and public data
Simply visiting the web site does not expose your identity publicly (but see private logging below).
When you edit any page in the wiki, you are publishing a document. This is a public act, and you are identified publicly with that edit as its author.
To you publish a page in the wiki, you must be logged in.
If you are logged in, you will be identified by your user name. This may be your real name if you so choose, or you may choose to publish under a pseudonym, whatever user name you selected when you created your account.
The wiki will set a temporary session cookie (PHPSESSID) whenever you visit the site. If you do not intend to ever log in, you may deny this cookie, but you cannot log in without it. It will be deleted when you close your browser session.
More cookies may be set when you log in, to avoid typing in your user name (or optionally password) on your next visit. These last up to 30 days. You may clear these cookies after use if you are using a public machine and don't wish to expose your username to future users of the machine. (If so, clear the browser cache as well.)
- Google's use of advertising cookies enables it and its partners to serve ads to visitors based on their visits to this site and/or other sites on the Internet.
- Users may opt out of personalized advertising by visiting Ads Settings. (Alternatively, visitors can opt out of third-party vendor cookies for personalized advertising by visiting www.aboutads.info.)
Many aspects of the Treasure Adventure Wiki's interactions depend on the reputation and respect that is built up through a history of valued contributions. User passwords are the only guarantee of the integrity of a user's edit history. All users are encouraged to select strong passwords and to never share them. No one shall knowingly expose the password of another user to public release either directly or indirectly.
Every time you visit a web page, you send a lot of information to the web server. Most web servers routinely maintain access logs with a portion of this information, which can be used to get an overall picture of what pages are popular, what other sites link to this one, and what web browsers people are using. It is not the intention of the Treasure Adventure Wiki to use this information to keep track of legitimate users.
Sharing information with third parties
Except where otherwise specified, all text added to the Treasure Adventure Wiki is available for reuse under the terms of the GFDL.
The Treasure Adventure Wiki will not sell or share private information, such as email addresses, with third parties, unless you agree to release this information, or it is required by law to release the information.
Security of information
The Treasure Adventure Wiki makes no guarantee against unauthorized access to any information you provide. This information will be available to all developers with access to the servers.
You may provide your e-mail address in your Preferences. This allows other logged-in users may send email to you through the wiki (unless you disable this in your preferences). Your address will not be revealed to them unless you respond, or possibly if the email bounces. The email address may be used by the site to communicate with users on a wider scale.
If you do not provide an email address, you will not be able to reset your password if you forget it. However, you may contact one of the site administrators to enter a new mail address in your preferences.
You can remove your email address from your preferences at any time to prevent it being used.
Data on users, such as the times at which they edited and the number of edits they have made are publicly available via "user contributions" lists, and occasionally in aggregated forms published by other users.
Removal of user accounts
Once created, user accounts can not be removed. It may be possible for a developer to change the username on an account, but you will need to request this yourself. The site does not guarantee that a name will be changed on request.
Deletion of content
Deleting text from the Treasure Adventure Wiki articles does not really delete them. In normal articles, anyone can look at a previous version and see what was there. If an article is "deleted", any sysop/administrator, meaning almost anyone trusted not to abuse the deletion capability, can see what was deleted. Only a developer can permanently delete information from the wiki and there is no guarantee this will happen except in response to legal action.